deped website





Cagayan de Oro City, October 4, 2021 – The Department of Education (DepEd) Region X reaped major awards in various national and international competitions.

DepEd TV Awards

The DepEd Regional Office X was awarded the “Most Outstanding Regional Office for DepEd TV” for the Region’s performance in the recently concluded virtual DepEd TV Awards 2021 on October 2.

The Schools Division Office (SDO) of Lanao del Norte won the “Most Outstanding SDO for DepEd TV” and its local production team DepEd TV LaNorte as the “Best Remote Team.”

DepEd LaNorte teacher-broadcaster Grace B. Galon bagged the “Students Choice Award” topping all the other teacher-broadcasters nationwide.

Also declared as top-3 finalists were Pamelah Amor for “Most Outstanding Teacher-Broadcaster for Science” and Sittie Aynah Macakiling for “Most Outstanding Teacher-Broadcaster for Science,” “Maka-Diyos Episode of the Year,” “Makatao Episode of the Year,” and “Makakalikasan Episode of the year.”

Grace Galon, Earl Tolero, and Marc Will Villacora were also among the top-3 nominees for “Best Costume Design” and “Best Production Design.”

DepEd launched the first-ever DepEd TV Awards to recognize the outstanding performance of teacher-broadcasters and production teams and celebrate a year of successful educational broadcasting amidst the pandemic.

Open Educational Resources (OER) Contest

In the same awarding ceremony, DepEd Region X was declared as one of the Top-10 regions for Most Number of Winning Entries in the Open Educational Resources (OER) Competition courtesy of the Divisions of Malaybalay City, Ozamiz City, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Tangub City, and Bukidnon.

As per OUA MEMO 00-0521-0219, the OER contest was in support of the United Nations Declaration of Paris 2021 about providing equal access to learning resources using ICT and equipping basic education in the Philippines with technology-aided resources for the blended learning modalities.

National Gabaldon Schoolhouse Contest 2021

The Region also notched top places in the National Gabaldon Schoolhouse Contest 2021.

The Division of Ozamiz City won First Place in the Old Photo Category (1961-1990); First Place in the Gabaldon Video, Animation Category; Third Place in the Gabaldon Write-up, Historical Significance Category; and Third Place in the Gabaldon Video, Portraiture Category.

In support of the Gabaldon School Buildings Conservation Act and DepEd’s own Gabaldon Schoolhouse Conservation Project, the contest was aimed at emphasizing the pivotal role of Gabaldon Schools in shaping the nation’s public school system.

World Research Competition 2021

Meanwhile, in the World Research Competition held in Malaysia on September 27-30, Misamis Occidental National High School, Division of Oroquieta City, notched the Grand Prize Award besting 329 teams from 29 countries.

The winning student-researchers Charmaigne Jhoyce Udal, Ranz Rambo Acompańado, Kinna Nierva, and Leonard Lemuel Mongado were awarded 100-percent college scholarship, gold medal award (applied life science category), and SeGi college special award.

The research entry BIOPROM or Biodegradable Protective Mask, was aimed at producing and determining the potentiality of a protective mask derived from the fibers of Saba banana (Musa acuminata × balbisiana) pseudo-stem, Corn (Zea mays) Husks and Pineapple (Ananas comosus) leaves. The protective mask underwent systematic processes: extracting the fibers, making the base, attaching the loops, and assembling the loops to the base. Moreover, the mask's fibers were tested for their durability, water absorbency, repellency, and degradability.

During the 10th Regional Management Committee Video Conference on October 1, Regional Director Arturo B. Bayocot, CESO III, commended the participating Schools Division Offices (SDOs) and schools for their performance in the different competitions.

“All these awards of the Region were made possible because of your leadership, persistence, and collaboration,” RD Bayocot said.

The SDOs, represented by the Schools Division Superintendents (SDSs) and Assistant Schools Division Superintendents (ASDSs), together with the regional and divisional chiefs, also expressed their gratitude for the Region’s support and pledged to sustain their initiatives and continue to innovate to become competently responsive to the changing times.

“I am humbled and honored by your esteemed recognition of my leadership as instrumental to our successes in the Region. I would not be able to lead effectively if not also for your trust and our collaboration,” RD Bayocot added.

With these accomplishments, DepEd NorMin will again vie for top honors in this year’s Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Curriculum and Instruction (SAFE-CI), which the Region successfully notched last year. │Ramon G. Abrera Jr.